Book Review- Sources for My Paper (Various Authors)

Sources:

 

I chose to read these sources so that I could convey events accurately in my paper. I’ve learned a lot from them.

These websites, videos, and interviews are about the British withdrawal from India and the partition of India. This is my introduction paragraph from my paper that answers this question:

Once borders had been drawn, millions began emigrating from their homes, trying to be the religious majority in a place where they could safely practice their religion. The politics surrounding the British withdrawal from India in 1947 greatly affected the people of the area, and caused ancient inequalities and prejudices to erupt into violent chaos. In 1946, the British made plans to leave India. The violence ensuing after they left stemmed from inequalities that Muslims faced as a minority, desperation from lack of resources, and anger against the British and the way they left so abruptly. Before the border that would separate India and Pakistan was decided, the tension around these lines would cause cities to change. The relations between Muslims, Sikhs, and Hindus would also change as a result of these political decisions. Because of these lines, millions would emigrate from their homelands to the side of the border that would have their religious majority. The outcome of this emigration was the death of over one million people. All the violence that had occurred from ethnic cleansing, caused varying degrees of animosity throughout Pakistan and India, and may still be visible today.

One of the important political figures in my research that stood out to me was Muhammad Ali Jinnah. He is considered the founder of Pakistan and fought politically for Muslim representation in Congress. I would want to meet him because I believe he instilled good ideas into the system. My grandmother remembers that Muhammad Ali Jinnah wouldn’t cheat the people and taught people how to respect each other, but she said that that was lost after his death. It’d be nice if he went back to Pakistan and helped the government become more trustworthy.

I enjoyed doing this research, (because I chose my topic,) and I would recommend it to those who are interested about learning more concerning this topic.

I can relate this writing research to my interviews with my grandparents. Most of the information matched up, so I thought that it was really cool that my grandparents remembered all that time in their life.

I think these sources are mostly just trying to convey research. Hopefully they weren’t too biased. I think they were all trying their best to be accurate. From history, we can remember how things worked out and know for the future, a better way to do them. I think it’s the same with this topic.

Questions Answered:

  • 1. Why did you choose this book?
  • 2. Explain the plot of the book, or if it is a non-fiction book, what topics are covered.
  • 3. Describe one of the characters in the book. Would you want to meet this character? Why or why not?
  • 4. What is your opinion of the book? Would you recommend it? Why or why not?
  • 5. Explain how this book is similar to another book, film, story, or article that you have read or seen. What connections or comparisons can you make?
  • 6. What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? What is the author trying to tell you about life or our world with this book?

Thanks for reading!:)Please check out some of my other posts to get good reading suggestions. Feel free to comment below!

Leave a Reply

