Book Review- The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (by Mark Haddon)


I think Nisrene chose this book because it contains a lot of themes that are important for us to understand.

The book is about a 15-year-old boy with AS. He’s super smart but has a lot of trouble reading people. In the beginning of the book, Chris finds a dead dog. The dead dog is significant because it changes his relationship with *someone*. When he finds the dog, he decides to investigate his death. This leads to many complications in his life and radically changes important relationships (as I have said). I honestly don’t know how much more I can say without giving too much away… This book is a first-person narrative that really covers who Chris is. We learn so much about him and how he understands the world. We learn who he aims to be and he shows us (through diagrams and long explanations) what his thought process is and how he gets through things. Overall, I think I learned a lot about AS (assuming the author did his research).

I’m going to talk about Mr. Boone, Christopher’s dad. Mr. Boone is generally pretty patient and understanding with Christopher. He tries really hard to be a good parent, but he sometimes looses his temper and hits Christopher. Hitting your child is completely inexcusable so I don’t think Mr. Boone is all that great. It is really hard to judge his character because while he does terrible, terrible things, he is there for Christopher and generally genuinely understands his son. I wouldn’t really care to meet him because while his character is complex, he’s kind of a bad person.

I actually really liked this book. Even though the writing style is really simple, I really like how it follows Christopher’s train of thought. The plot feels very authentic because any of the content could really happen. I would definitely recommend this book. I feel like slightly younger kids could read it too because they may not pick up on some more mature themes. I suggest reading this book because learning about developmental disorders such as AS is really important because it can help us understand people with developmental disorders better.

This book could be related to The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian because the writing is simple and easy to understand in both of them. I’m really bad at answering this question, so I don’t have much else to say. I can say that I really feel that this book is unique. Though I haven’t read any books about people who have AS or books by people who have AS, I think that this book is probably different from most of them because of how Christopher explains things to the reader in his own, unique way.

I think that the author wants us to learn more about AS and how someone with AS might have trouble reading people. As a society, we really have trouble accepting people who think in a different way then we do. I think that the author, Mark Haddon, really wanted to try to convey that some people may have trouble doing the things that some of us take for granted, such as reading someone’s emotions. I hope that other people who read this book were able to learn really important things as well. I think this book is also about overcoming things we think we may not think we are able to do. Chris did a lot of things in this book that were incredibly challenging for him, but he pushed on and did what he had to do. He perservered.

Questions Answered:

  • 1. Why did Nisrene choose this book?
  • 2. Explain the plot of the book, or if it is a non-fiction book, what topics are covered.
  • 3. Describe one of the characters in the book. Would you want to meet this character? Why or why not?
  • 4. What is your opinion of the book? Would you recommend it? Why or why not?
  • 5. Explain how this book is similar to another book, film, story, or article that you have read or seen. What connections or comparisons can you make?
  • 6. What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? What is the author trying to tell you about life or our world with this book?

Thanks for reading!:)What do you think you can’t do? Please check out some of my other posts to get good reading suggestions. Feel free to comment below!

Leave a Reply

