Book Review- Evermore (by Alyson Noël)

(By the way, I wrote this while I was feeling kinda negative.)

I chose this book because I was hoping to read some bad, romantic fiction, and boy oh boy was I surprised at just how bad it was!

This book starts off with a teenager explaining irregularities in her life. It turns out she is very different from everyone else. Cliche? Very. Ever (yes, that is a name,) can sense people’s intentions, see their moods based on the energy they’re putting off, (i.e., their aura,) prophesize events, and basically read minds. She hates her gift and wishes it didn’t exist. Ever wishes she was normal. She wasn’t always like this, but when a mysterious event occurred, she came to have these powers. One day at school, she meets a mysterious guy. There’s something different about him and she becomes very attracted to him. Through him, she learns things about her powers that she would’ve never imagined were possible. Ever deals with addiction, an evil woman, and she finally faces her past and her powers. As we explore her life, we learn that she used to be popular and well-loved. Now, she is perceived as a misfit. Though her social life isn’t great, she lives in a mansion and is pretty dang rich. No matter how bad she feels for herself, at least she has a roof over her head, am I right?

The main character’s name is Ever. She has magical powers, but she doesn’t seem like a very interesting person overall. Maybe the author didn’t take the time to describe her because all I kept reading about her was that she’s shy and reserved. (I mean you only have to say that once, the actions of the character should say the rest.) I would prefer not to meet Ever. I know she can’t control her powers, but I would honestly be uncomfortable around a person who could read my every thought and emotion.

I would rate this book a 0.5/5… Yeah, it was pretty bad. I don’t like to be super harsh on books and honestly, I don’t think I’m even being harsh enough. Though I enjoy a good romance novel, I love when they have a twist to them. A shy girl having magical powers and a supposed “hottie,” (as her love interest,) is not enough to give me a page turner. If you’re into really cliche stuff and frankly, bad writing, then read this!

This book is similar to a book I read called Shiver. (I think I did a book review on it on here, so make sure to go check it out!) They both follow the plots of a typical romance novel but somehow manage to be *yawn* very boring. Other than that, there isn’t much I can connect this to. I haven’t read many books about people with psychic powers. I think that this is because most authors know that having a psychic main character is boring because it’s basically like the book is written in third-person: you know everything about everyone.

I think the main theme of this story is forgiving yourself and moving on. After the mysterious event I mentioned earlier, Ever blames herself for many things. She holds onto her past and doesn’t let her sister (who’s a ghost,) go to where she’s supposed to be (heaven). At the end of the book, she finally lets her sister RIP (rest in peace,) and comes to terms with her powers. She is able to stop blaming herself and finally realize that she needs to move on. I think that this message is important. Forgiving yourself is a really important thing to do. Coming to terms with something that happened is necessary, even if you did do something wrong. Another thing I don’t like about this book is how innocent Ever is. She blames herself for soo many things that could, in no way, be her fault. I wish her character would be more complex so we could see her actually come to terms with something she did.

Questions Answered:

  • 1. Why did you choose this book?
  • 2. Explain the plot of the book, or if it is a non-fiction book, what topics are covered.
  • 3. Describe one of the characters in the book. Would you want to meet this character? Why or why not?
  • 4. What is your opinion of the book? Would you recommend it? Why or why not?
  • 5. Explain how this book is similar to another book, film, story, or article that you have read or seen. What connections or comparisons can you make?
  • 6. What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? What is the author trying to tell you about life or our world with this book?

Thanks for reading!:)Please check out some of my other posts to get good reading suggestions. Feel free to comment below!

2 thoughts on “Book Review- Evermore (by Alyson Noël)

Leave a Reply

