Book Review- Aesop’s Fables (By Aesop)

(Note: sorry if this post is confusing, I tried…😁.)

Before a road trip, I was looking for a book that I could read on iBooks, a book that wouldn’t need the amazing lighting in the car to read. I chose a short story book because I was looking for short stories to do a review on. Some of these stories may seem kinda harsh at times, but don’t mind it, it’s just Aesop’s writing style. 🙂

I chose The Fox and the Ape because I found it generally true and a bit cruel. I chose The Fox and the Stork because I thought it was interesting and true, for the most part. I chose The Miser because I think the idea of it is so interesting, and I love the symbolism of the gold/money.

The Fox and the Ape

The Fox and the Ape is a short story about ruling and what it means to be fit for ruling. In this story, a new king gets lured into a trap and laughed at by Reynard, who made it. The Fox’s point is that if you are fit to be a ruler, you have to be smart and make good decisions. I agree with Reynard but part of me still argues that he could’ve done it in a nicer way; but then again, how else would he have learned?

Moral: To be a ruler you have to be smart and make good decisions.

One of the characters in this book is the Ape. I would definitely want to meet the Ape because I feel like I might be able to help the Ape on his journey through “kingship.” I probably wouldn’t be able to help much, because of my lack of experience, but I would probably say one or two helpful things.

I think the main idea of this story is the moral that Aesop implied: to be a ruler you have to make smart decisions. I think that many leaders are misled by people they trust, and that can be their downfall. No matter how much you’ve learned about ruling, it is always different to be an actual ruler. The more you rule, the more you learn; and you probably end up just as tricky as the Fox.

The Fox and the Stork

The Fox and the Stork is a short story about trickery. In this story, a fox invites a stork over for dinner but doesn’t serve the meal in a way that the Stork can eat it. In turn, the Stork invites Reynard over for dinner and serves the meal in a dish where the Fox is unable to eat it. I think this story has a way deeper meaning than the way Aesop tells it, so continue reading to figure it out.

Moral: If you commit an act of trickery, you should expect the victim to reciprocate.

One of the characters in this story is the Fox. I wouldn’t like to meet Reynard because he seems like he’d just play a lot of tricks on me. It may be funny at first, but after awhile it might get annoying. :/

I think that this story has a deeper meaning than we give it credit for. (Just to be clear, although Aesop doesn’t clearly say it, he implies that it is the Fox who is the perpetrator of evil in this story.) I think that is story is talking about our differences and how, as a host, you must be able to meet those needs and care for your guest because it was you, who invited the guest over, you, who promised comfort for that very guest. I also think that the Stork didn’t need to invite Reynard over and be just as rude as the Fox himself because sometimes when we show a mean animal/person what it is to be kind, sometimes they learn from that experience. I also think that the Stork and the Fox could’ve communicated their feelings because it must suck to be teased with food. I mean, who wants that?

The Miser

The Miser is a short story about a miser who who has a lump of gold and never uses it. I understand what the Miser is feeling because I know that having money, and not always using it, isn’t a bad thing. It’s the reassurance of having money that assures you that you can buy new clothes, you can buy a new house, and you don’t have to worry about food next week, etcetera. However, I also think that never using that lump of gold, when you could use it to help people and make a difference, is wasted gold, so why not just have a lump of rock?

Moral: Use your money and don’t hoard it.

The main character in this story is the Miser. (Just to make sure you know, a miser is a person who stashes away/hoards a lot of money and never uses it.) I’m pretty impartial to meeting this character because the story doesn’t tell us much about him. Now, having to choose, I’d say I would meet him because I’d like to tell him to use the lump of gold, (for all it’s worth,) live in comfort, and give some to people who really need it.

I think that the author is trying to say that if you never use your money/gold, what is the use of money/gold? I am here to challenge you to the though that maybe it’s the idea of the gold that keeps us going. Not everyone has money, but those who do are lucky. We don’t use all of our money at once. The majority of people who have money keep it in a bank account. This ensures that virtually no one can steal it. How are we any different from the character of the Miser? I mean for the people who can afford it, we get new clothes and we have a roof over out heads. I guess the difference is that we use part of our money to keep ourselves healthy and alive.

Applies to all:

I think that this book is fantastic. I recommend this book for people who love intense, unfeeling short stories. I was being sarcastic, but it’s pretty good, not amazing, but entertaining. I’d rate it 7.8/10 because I didn’t feel a connection to any of the characters because the stories were so short.

I chose the stories that I chose because they stood out to me out of all the stories. I would rate the three I chose an 8.5/10.

The stories I chose were all new to me so it’s really hard to compare them to anything. I can compare The Fox and the Ape with any book, film, story, or article that has a ruler coming to power. This book itself is like any short story book because it has many short stories collected into one book.   🙂

I think Aesop wrote these stories to show us his morals and the way he thinks others should live. Aesop was a greek slave around 620 CE and had a sad outlook on life.

Questions Answered:

1. Why did you choose this book?

2. Explain the plot of the book, or if it is a non-fiction book, what topics are covered.

3. Describe one of the characters in the book. Would you want to meet this character? Why or why not?

4. What is your opinion of the book? Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

5. Explain how this book is similar to another book, film, story, or article that you have read or seen. What connections or comparisons can you make?

6. What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? What is the author trying to tell you about life or our world with this book?

 

Thanks for reading! 🙂 Please check out some of my other posts to get good reading suggestions. Feel free to comment below!

3 thoughts on “Book Review- Aesop’s Fables (By Aesop)

  1. Hey Nebula!
    Great job on your post! I think that it wasn’t confusing at all, you explained it very well 🙂 For future reference, don’t put yourself down at the beginning of the post – no one would notice even if it was slightly confusing ❤ If you had a choice between keeping the lump of gold or giving it to someone else who needs it? GOod Job friend!
    love ya

    -Tomiko

    Like

  2. Like Tomi said, this post really isn’t confusing at all. I like how your organized your short reviews in this order (I think):

    1. Summary.
    2. Moral.
    3. In depth explanation.

    I like it! This is a personal opinion, but maybe you should put the questions before you answer them. Maybe right before the answer. Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

