Hollywood-Marina and the Diamonds

“Hollywood”
(“The Family Jewels” album version)

American queen is the American dream
American queen is the American dream
She is a Polish girl in America
Tall, tanned, hot, blond, called Anya
I asked her, “Why would you wanna be a Hollywood wife?”
“Because I don’t wanna end up living in a dive on Vine, a dive on Vine.”Air hostesses doing gossip magazine
Crosswords on a flight to JFK
Thirty nine years old
With a mile high sheen
Trying to stimulate a mind
That is slowly starting to decay

I itch my skin, I jump up and say,
“Lady, I know why your thoughts turn gray.”

[Chorus:]
Hollywood infected your brain.
You wanted kissing in the rain, oh, oh, ooh.
Living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams, oh, oh
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

A fat security making place for me
Soon as I touch down in old L.A.
He said, “Oh, my God, you look just like Shakira!
No, no, you’re Catherine Zeta.”
“Actually, my name’s Marina.”

Your mind is just like mine
All filled up with things benign.
You’re looking for the golden lie.

[Chorus:]
Hollywood infected your brain.
You wanted kissing in the rain, oh, oh, ooh.
I’ve been living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams, oh, oh
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

American dream is the American queen
American queen is the American dream, is the American dream

[Chorus:]
Hollywood infected your brain.
You wanted kissing in the rain, oh, oh.
I’ve been living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams, oh, oh

Hollywood infected your brain.
You wanted kissing in the rain, oh, oh.
I’ve been living in a movie scene
Puking American dreams, oh, oh.
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America
I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America

I think this song is about how everyone wants the “American Dream,” but why? And at what cost?
I like this song because when you first hear it, it sounds a lot like other pop songs, but when you look closely, the words are actually about something deep and meaningful. I think Marina meant it to be this way, that’s why this song goes with a bright poppy tune, but also why her voice almost sounds strangled to be happy.
Marina uses rhyming, personal pronouns, and quotes/conversation.
She is a Polish girl in America
Tall, tanned, hot, blond, called Anya-This description of “Anya” shows us what society has told us is the image of the “perfect” girl.
I asked her, “Why would you wanna be a Hollywood wife?”
“Because I don’t wanna end up living in a dive on Vine, a dive on Vine.”Marina is telling us why people want to be a “Hollywood wife.” People want to have money, no matter what. That idea has infected our brain.
Crosswords on a flight to JFK

Trying to stimulate a mind
That is slowly starting to decayThis is saying how when we try to live up to the Hollywood lifestyle and the American ideal, we don’t learn about the other types of intelligences (Eric Gardner).

 

[Chorus:]
Hollywood infected your brain.Marina couldn’t hold back anymore because she knew why Anya was forgetting stuff and why it was hard for her to think. It was because the Hollywood ideas of fame and fortune began to cloud and infect her vision. Anya will keep wanting more and more of the American Dream just because she’s scared of what will happen if she doesn’t make it big and get a lot of money.

I’m obsessed with the mess that’s America (x2)Marina herself is infected with this dream.

 

He said, “Oh, my God, you look just like Shakira!
No, no, you’re Catherine Zeta.”
“Actually, my name’s Marina.”Marina is saying that most Hollywood pop stars are based off of the same idea and the same American ideals. Who would be able to tell the difference?
Your mind is just like mine
All filled up with things benign.Again, Marina is admitting that she is infected with the American Dream, a crazy, unrealistic dream.
American dream is the American queen
American queen is the American dream, is the American dreamThe American Dream is to be an American Queen, who wouldn’t want that?
Honorable Mentions:
Thanks for reading! 🙂 Please check out some of my other posts to get good reading suggestions. Remember that (generally) every book/song mentioned, (even if it’s not starred,) is recommended. Feel free to comment below!
10 thoughts on “Hollywood-Marina and the Diamonds

  1. Do you think more pop songs should have strong messages in them?
    I really enjoyed the review, I will check the song out.
    Organization might need work, everything was well written but I had trouble finding where the actual review started. I am only saying this because I cant really find much else to critique.
    Good Post

    Like

  2. Do you think that if this was the very first modern-ish pop music you’ve listened too, do you think it would have more of a meaning to you? I think you should of written more about what you think of the song in paragraph form, instead of showing the lyrics then writing. Just my opinion!

    Like

    1. Fantastic question! I actually don’t think that it would’ve made an impact on my music choices. I don’t think it did/does because I have been exposed to so much music, I’m pretty good at figuring out what the lyrics mean. Thanks for your comment. (Your constructive criticism is noted 🙂 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

