Book Review- The Giver (by Lois Lowry)

I would not like to live in the community Jonas grows up in because all the people who live in this community have no thoughts of their own; they are programmed to do whatever the society tells them to do. There is no freedom in this society and I personally could not deal with that. This society contains seriousness (24/7), blank faces, no true feelings and nothing interesting. Not to say that the book doesn’t…

One question that I have about this book is: What did happen at the end? Did Jonas die? Did he find a safe, fun, colorful, new place to live? I think Lois Lowry left this question unanswered on purpose i.e. she wanted the reader to interpret it without her telling them what the ending actually was in her mind.

Gratitude. I think the author is trying to tell us that we should be happy that we are able to think for ourself. We actually have choices and decisions in our world-at least where I live-no matter how hard they might be to make. I know in a lot of places people don’t have many rights, but I feel I do, that’s where I’m coming from.

Our world could be like this.  I also think the author is trying to say that the world could change; bad things could happen. Imagine our world in a later date…Just think. Is it a good or bad world? Can we, the people, make choices? In the future world I picture, it isn’t pretty. If our society that we live in now continues to get more and more controlling, I gather that our society will be the same, or very similar to, Jonas’ community.

The Giver is similar to the book Matched by Ally Condie. I think that the books alike, not in the sense of sharing/giving memories, but in the sense that the society controls everything. In Matched they take pills, very similar to the Giver, if you have read the book.

Note: I suggest reading Matched by Ally Condie! 🙂

I would recommend this book to people who like rebellion…and I guess to everyone else:). I recommend this book because 1. The author is amazing, 2. the storyline is fantastic, 3. the characters are realistic, interesting, smart and brave.

Thanks For Reading! Please comment below if you have any questions or thought and ideas. 🙂

Questions answered:

  1. Would you want to live in the community Jonas grows up in? Why or why not?
  2. What is one question that you have about the book?
  3. What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? (what is the author trying to say about life or our world by telling this story?) Why?
  4. Explain how The Giver is similar to another book, film, story, or article that you have read or seen. What connections or comparisons can you make?
  5. Would you recommend this book? Why or why not?
One thought on “Book Review- The Giver (by Lois Lowry)

  1. Pingback: Book Review- Just Listen (by Sarah Dessen) | NABILA-Language_Arts

Leave a Reply

