Book Review- Little Brother (by Cory Doctorow)

I chose the book Little Brother because it was my sister’s summer reading book. She started reading the 5th chapter while I was on the first, then when she was reading the 8th chapter I was on the 10th and so on…so I guess I kind of stole her summer reading book!

images

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow is a fictional book, but anything in the book could really happen. I don’t want to give away the whole plot, but this main idea of this story is that anyone can fight against the government, anywhere, for any reason. Marcus fights for the rightful privacy that all the citizens in America deserve. I can’t quite say he is willing to risk everything, but he is truly and rightfully terrified of the Department of Homeland Security. As the book goes on he becomes obsessed with overthrowing the government, a little too obsessed, through rightfully.

One of the characters in this book is named Angela Carvelli, Ange, and she is a strong female character. She supports Marcus, the main character, through all or most of the hardships he goes through. I would really like to meet this character because she has this certain aura about her that would make me feel strong, not compared to her, but her power would make me feel powerful.

Let me be truthful, I enjoyed reading this book very much.This book is amazing! I guess I was able to say that calmly. I recommend this book because I feel Little Brother is very empowering, it is well written and anything in the book could really happen; I like that in a book.

This book is similar to all of those books about people rebelling against the government, I guess there are a lot of those books. Although this book has people rebelling against the “capital”, “society” or government this book is really, really probable. It’s not at all like The Hunger Games or Matched in the sense of the book being probable or not. I mean in a sense those two books are probable, but not really…All of these books are realities that could occur, but are many peoples nightmares. That’s why when we read these kind of books we feel super good about our world right now. Think of the world 100 years from now, could any of these things happen to our world? We don’t want them ever to but some things are inevitable…

The theme is this story is about how much power the government has.  Little Brother is also reminding you how much the government can control. This story made me really really angry at the government. I know that not all of the concepts in this book are true e.g. that the government is always bad.

Questions answered:

Why did you choose this book?

Explain the plot of the book, or if it is a non-fiction book, what topics are covered.

Describe one of the characters in the book. Would you want to meet this character? Why or why not?

What is your opinion of the book? Would you recommend it? Why or why not?

What do you think the main idea or theme of this story is? What is the author trying to tell you about life or our world with this book?

Leave a Reply

